walking in wisdom: there are a lot of fire ants in arkansas

Camp ended in August. It’s October. Shame on me.

I’m still wrestling with how to put the summer of 2012 into words. In the words of my father, you can only eat an elephant one bite at a time. Here goes. 

I served as the camp director for CentriKid team 7. For those of reading this who are not familiar with CentriKid and it’s impact on my life, I strongly encourage you to stop reading and look back on some of my previous camp posts. I”ll wait.  

For those of you who don’t want to read, I’ll give you the Reader’s Digest version. Camp has changed my life forever. 

Moving on…

Being the director of a camp was one of the hardest and most rewarding things I’ve ever done. I could not have been blessed more by my team–CK7 was absolutely incredible. Every single one of them has amazing testimonies and beautiful souls. It was so amazing to watch God work through them all summer.

We began our adventure at Campbellsville, KY with training week. I’ve completely lost track of all the hysterical things said, but training week definitely laid down the foundation for a summer of community, fellowship, and laughter. Lots of laughter. 

Before we headed off to our first location, we managed to win OMC (Organized Mass Chaos) as well as the OMC cheer. Tiny mighty CK7.

(For those of you who don’t know anything about CentriKid–staffers spend a week of training to learn material, games, track times, and production elements to prepare for camp. It’s a blast. We basically get to experience camp as if we were campers as well. OMC is the game played on the last full day of camp.)

Image

 Our first week of camp took place in Magnolia, AR at Southern Arkansas University. After many hours on the road, we arrived and set up camp. In hindsight, we had a fairly smooth first week of camp if you don’t count one of your staffers going into anaphylactic shock (thanks for keeping me on my toes, Aaron), busted main speaker, or more nosebleeds from campers than you can imagine. 

We met some incredible kids and adults that week. I’m always going to remember Mr. Hershel. He was such a wonderful group leader–man in his late 60s who had just as much (if not more) energy than the 4th, 5th, and 6th graders who came to camp with him. He was such an encouragement to our team as well. 

In Arkansas, specifically southern Arkansas, it is hot. There’s also a rare breed of fire ants that could bring down The Hulk. Children + fire ants = bad. Very bad. The gospel was shared in spite of them.

Our first week was a week of learning for sure. After SAU, we packed up and headed to Buies Creek, NC. 

Before I dig into what happened in North Carolina and beyond, I’d like to linger on a musings from reminiscing about camp. 

My entire staff was absolutely incredible, but I know for a fact I could not have done my job this summer without Ellie Doom. Ellie was the assistant director for our team and she was my rock. I will never be able to express how grateful I was (and still am) for her friendship, support, and leadership. I knew we’d get along well the first time we met each other. She’s got such a phenomenal passion for sharing the Gospel, and her sense of humor is out of control. I find myself saying things she’d say and doing her mannerisms. She’s currently working in the CentriKid office at LifeWay as a department intern, and I could not be more proud to call her a friend and sister in Christ. 

Image

 

 

Next post: spiritual warfare is real. 

 

Leave a Reply

