centricamp…you crazy, crazy centrikids.

It’s hard to believe that a month ago I was at camp serving as a production leader for CK2. Camp holds such an enormous part inside my heart, and I feel like the things I’ve learned from my past two summers with CentriKid have impacted me in ways that I can benefit from for the rest of my life.

Serving as the production leader gave me a new insight into the world of camp, and even life in general. Here are some of the things that I learned from it:

God works when “stuff” doesn’t. For the first few things when things went wrong that were out of my control, I stressed. I bit my nails. I’d have one of those moments where I put my glasses on my head, ran my fingers though my hair, sighed loudly and smacked my head against the wall. And for what? What good was that? Sure, I was frustrated that our projector went out during the middle of a program, or that our live feed connection seemed to have it out for me, but you know what? None of that mattered. The Lord works regardless of whether or not anything of ours does. Children made decisions to follow Christ. I’m certainly not saying that programming doesn’t matter—goodness gracious, I would never say that. Excellence of camp is incredibly important. But it took a few weeks of me working myself up for no reason to realize that when things are out of our control, they are NOT out of God’s.

Camp relationships are some of the best friendships I will have. I can’t begin to describe it. It’s true love. Seeing my friends from last summer at training week is what I think heaven will be like. (I’ll go more into that later). I made the same kind of friendships this summer with CK2; there really is nothing like it. These people invest in my life. They care about my interests, my struggles, my joy, and my sorrow. They encourage me and build me up. They tell me what I need to know, not what I want to hear. It’s genuine love.

Make every second of every minute of your day count. I’m sure many of you, like me, are around people all the time. We’re intentional with people 24/7 at camp…why shouldn’t we be in “real life”? Instead of doing the same “hey, how are you? good.” conversations that I have with 70% of the people I come in contact with, why don’t I take 2 minutes to ask them something not as shallow?

How many days until training week 2012?

Leave a Reply

