enough

I’ve spent the first few days of my spring break relaxing at home, and it has been awesome. Yesterday morning my mom made doughnuts for breakfast for me, so I woke up, ate some, and then slept until 1. Today was somewhat of the same routine. This doesn’t need to become a habit, but it was my personal reward for running 7 miles on Sunday afternoon and 4.5 today.

I had lunch with one of my best friends in the world (a three-hour session in Chili’s to be exact) on Monday and we discussed everything, like we normally do. However, one specific topic we talked about has been on my mind for some time now.

We both made the statement that we wished teenage girls–specifically in the 8th, 9th, or 10th grade–could really understand what “Jesus is enough” means. I’ve said this in other ways on my blog before, but it honestly wasn’t until I was 19 years old with a year of college under my belt before I truly understood what “Jesus is enough” meant.

So what does that even mean? Jesus is enough?

Here is what it means to me.

I am loved. I am so deeply loved, it’s hard to comprehend. I am loved by God more than my parents, sister, family, friends, or boyfriend love me.

I know God loves me. I feel it.

I am a sinner, through and through. I deserve hell. But God loves me so much, He sent His Son in my place for the punishment of my sin. I did absolutely NOTHING to deserve it. He did it because He loves me.

Nothing can ever fill the void in our hearts that long for God, except for Him. I’m willing to say that many people don’t realize they desire God. They may be actively turning against Him. But there is a longing in our souls–we may temporary fill it with finite things, convince ourselves that we are fulfilled, or ignore it–but it’s there. People want to be loved.

I feel like we fill the void in ways that aren’t always obvious. I was guilty of wanting to do everything in high school. Class president, drum major, club member, theatre, band, choir, you name it. There is nothing wrong with wanting to be involved, but when I question my motifs, I have to admit my first answer wasn’t “to glorify God”.

Jesus is enough. He fills the void.

You hold my every moment
You calm my raging seas
You walk with me through fire
And heal all my disease
I trust in You
Lord, I trust in You
I believe You’re my healer
I believe You are all I need
I believe You’re my portion
I believe You’re more than enough for me
Jesus, You’re all I need

Leave a Reply

