red and yellow, black and white…

I am a sucker for the History channel. I have always enjoyed history, especially of the American Civil War and World War II.  I recorded two programs that I found fascinating as well as down-right heartbreaking. So here I sit, at 11pm on a school night, watching “Ku Klux Klan: A Secret History” and almost on the verge of tears.

In my previous blog post, I challenged myself to describe what being like Jesus means, and what it looks like. Today, I will start by describing what being like Jesus doesn’t look like.

It’s hard for me to comprehend that there are people in this world today who hate people simply because they exist.

Watching footage from these Klan meetings and interviews with proud members makes my stomach turn. One man openly stated that he hates black people, Hispanic people, and Jews simply because they are alive. I saw a program about Nazism in America where people were proudly stating that Jesus only cares about white people, and that they hope to see a world where Jews don’t exist. The man who said the previous claimed to be a preacher. These people have swastikas tattooed all over themselves.

These extremist hate groups claim to have roots in Christianity.

Clearly, these “biblical interpretations” that the  leaders of these hate groups claim are not biblical at all. I’m not even going to spend a lot of time explaining why, because there is nothing, nothing in the Bible that states Jesus only came for white people, and that Jews descended from Satan, that it is okay to hate/murder people because of their skin color, or any other of the nonsense that these people claim as gospel truth.

These people’s idea of Jesus is so far wrong… I just don’t even know how to understand how they could possibly believe what they believe.

It’s brainwashing, obviously. People like something they can “believe in”. It’s a tool of Satan, for sure. Taint the Gospel and try to combine it with the teaching of Adolf Hitler. Newsflash, those two don’t go together.

I find it painfully ironic that while I’m watching footage of the Klan burning a cross, they are playing “Amazing Grace”.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me / I once was lost, but now, am found, was blind but now I see…

Here’s the truth, friends. Jesus died for the salvation of EVERYONE. Whoever believes in Him will not perish, but have eternal life. (John 3:16) There is no subscript saying “and by whoever, we really just mean white people.”

It’s amazing how, in light of such a gruesome subject, I can learn something more about Jesus. He loves us. He died for all of us. He loves me as much as He loves the Aryan Nations pastor claiming he hopes all the Jews are exterminated forever.

Take that in.

Being like Jesus: love as He loves us.

One thought on “red and yellow, black and white…

  1. Mary Chase, We are all sinners saved by grace (if we are saved that is) by faith alone, through grace alone through Christ alone. We will never be perfect until we are in heaven, but we are continually being sanctified in this life to be fit for heaven. We will fail in lots of ways, but Jesus is always ready to pick us up and take us back into his loving arms. Keep the faith, my dear. Lori

Leave a Reply

