rain, rain, go away.

Maybe it’s the gloomy, miserable weather in Starkville, but for some reason all I’ve been able to think about today is everything that is wrong with the world and the people in it. I think this is the first time that I am genuinely discouraged by these thoughts–it used to be so easy for me to stick my fingers in my ears and say “la-la-la-la-la-la-la!!!!” But as I’ve grown up, I’ve grown to care too much. If that’s possible. I wish I was a little more thick skinned. I wish I didn’t wear my heart on my sleeve sometimes. I wish I didn’t have this urge to “fix” everything.

I know what you’re thinking.

I really am an optimistic person. In fact, sometimes I think I’m too optimistic. I know that I give people the benefit of the doubt and have overly high expectations of them. I suppose it’s a blessing and a curse.

I’m reminded all the time about the things that are good–no, wonderful in the world. That keeps me from being too much of a Debbie Downer.

If you’re having a less-than-stellar day, maybe this will help lift you up:

“Christ has liberated us into freedom.” -Galatians 5:1

“For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing will have the power to seperate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord!”
-Romans 8:39-39

“For God so loved the world that He gave His One and Only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send His Son into the world so that He might condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through Him.” -John 3:16-17

You stay the same through the ages,
Your love never changes.
There may be pain in the night, but joy comes in the morning.
And when the oceans rage, I don’t have to be afraid;
Because I know that You love me,
And Your love never fails.

 

Leave a Reply

