stereotypical

Ahh…2011. It is good to see you.

I wouldn’t be a true blogger if I didn’t give a brief recap of 2010, so here goes:

2010 In Review

January: I began my first spring semester of college. I grew closer to two of my best friends, Anna Kathryn and Gil. I traveled to Tuscaloosa with my best friend and welcomed the 2010 National Champions home from the game with her family.

February: I spent Valentine’s Day with Syd as we spent hours on youtube laughing to the point of physical pain. I became a staff writer for the Reflector, the student newspaper at Mississippi State. I grew closer to my friend Hannah at the same time.

March: I found out that I would be on Centrikid 5 for the summer. I began to see who my team mates were and creep on their facebooks. Little did I know that I was looking at some lifelong friends. I also spent spring break with some friends in Ashville, North Carolina in a cabin.

April: Alas, LOST came to an end. I cried a lot. I also finished up the semester and moved out by myself. (It really wasn’t a big deal). I reflected on my first year at State and how dramatically my life had changed in those nine short months.

May: First of all, read this:

https://marychasebreedlove.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/once-in-a-lifetime/

I spent some time with Jayme in Murfreesboro before I left her for the entire summer.
I also came face to face for the first time with Chris on May 28, 2010. 🙂

June/July: CENTRIKID. Read my centrikid entries, they will make you smile. There is no way I could captivate those months in one paragraph.

August: I went back to school to begin my sophomore year. It was hard leaving camp, but it was wonderful coming back to my friends. I moved into a wonderful apartment with Sydney and I have loved every second of living with her. She will always be a best friend. I also dealt with a cracked rib during band camp and rush.

September: I dove head first into football season, marching band, classes, chi omega, writing for the paper, and being with my friends. On September 9, Chris came to  visit me for the first time since camp ended, and on the 10th we officially began dating. That was a good day. On the 17th, my best friends Gil and Anna Kathryn got engaged, and I was lucky enough to record it on video. That was one of the happiest days–they will be getting married on June 25th, 2011 and I am a bridesmaid! FUN! It was my Momma’s birthday on the 24th. September was a good month to say the least.

October: I went to Atlanta for the first time to visit Chris and met his wonderful friends. I like Georgia Tech. I officially met his parents (I had met them at camp briefly) and completely fell in love with them–they are two of the most wonderful people I’ve ever met. Chris and I both hit jackpot in the parent lottery. He met mine as well, they love him,, and we saw Wicked at the Orpheum in Memphis. Sydney turned 20. On a different note (I won’t say “sad” because she’s in Heaven…how great is that?!), my sweet great aunt passed away on the 29th. She was 93 years old and had been suffering from Alzheimer’s for the last 15 or so years of her life. I am so happy that she is in the arms of our Savior now :).

November: This was a bittersweet month. On the 9th (the 21st birthday of my older sister who passed away), a childhood friend of mine passed away. His sister is one of my best friends in the world and it was very difficult to see her and her family deal with his death. But his visitation and funeral was such a testament of the kind of person he was- hundreds of people came and celebrated his life. His friends love him so much; we got to sign his casket at his visitation, which still gives me chills to think about. He, too, is rejoicing in heaven with our Savior right now, which is the most comforting and exciting thing to think about.

I spent Thanksgiving with Chris’ family in Georgia and met his fabulous sister and her husband. It was such a blessing to spend time with his family. I turned 20 the day after Thanksgiving (the 26th) and went to the Varsity for the first time that night. I loved this time–it was so much fun and made me feel all warm inside. I did miss my family, though. I hated not seeing Jay on her birthday, but I made up for it over my wonderful Christmas break.

December: I got strep throat during finals, but other than that I have absolutely no complaints about this month. I went to our CK5 reunion in Nashville and got to see those wonderful people I lived with for two months this summer. It was wonderful. Chris went to Liberia for Christmas and New Years. I spent my time at home with family and friends, and spent some quality time with my sister and my parents. On Christmas day, my sweet aunt and uncle came over and we ate way too much good food. My daddy celebrated his birthday on the 14th, and he got a new job. This was a HUGE blessing for my family, and I am so excited for him.

I am blessed beyond anything I deserve.

I’m quite sure I don’t have to say this, but in case you were wondering, Mississippi State CURB STOMPED Michigan in the 2011 New Year’s Day Gator Bowl in Jacksonville, FL. I was there to see it all. It was wonderful, and I love the Famous Maroon Band.

On Thursday, Chris finally came home and I breathed a sigh of relief. 🙂

On Friday, my sweet friend Malley and I took an impromptu road trip to Birmingham. We saw the band that worked with us this summer, the Connexion band. I love those boys dearly and it was so wonderful to see them.

Now I am sitting in my living room on an epic pallet Sydney and I made. We are enjoying a SNOW DAY. We played in the snow last night and it was so much fun. We made breakfast this morning and watched movies. I’m pretty sure that this has been one of the best days of college ever.

Tomorrow I hit the ground running with school, even though I technically started last Wednesday.

I’m all smiles.

-MC

One thought on “stereotypical

Leave a Reply

