have you ever felt like you swallowed a weed-eater?

I have! It’s not as fun as it sounds.

I guess I couldn’t have picked a better time to get sick- I already took 2 finals, got out of 1, and have my last 2 on Thursday. And you know what? Until now, I haven’t really been sick all semester, minus some ear issues. Even though I feel bad, I can’t complain. So today and tomorrow will be filled with gargling salt water, eating cough drops, and plenty of nyquill…and…studying.

…and CHRISTMAS MOVIES!

I have recorded Elf and Home Alone 2: Lost in New York. Behold, I am wrapped in my snuggie (amazing gift from an amazing friend), drinking hot chocolate and watching Kevin McAlister get into mischief. Sometimes I do get into mischief. We all do!

Gosh I love this movie. Who doesn’t enjoy bad guys getting dominated by a ten year old? This brings back tangible memories of my childhood. Memories of making a comfy fortress of blankets in the floor (especially the ugly pink comforter which I LOVE; I will never give it up, Pam Breedlove), eating my mother’s amazing Christmas-time food, and laughing hysterically with my twin sister.

For anyone who knows the Breedlove twins, you know that we have this incredible ability to quote movies to the point of perfection. And other than “Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion”, I can’t think of another one that we both literally know every word to other than Home Alone.

Here are a few phrases that resonate in our vocabulary:

Merry Christmas, you filthy animal.

Two? Make it three. I’m not driving. (we say this ALL. THE. TIME.)

Wow. What a hole.

Nice night for a neck injury!

Get out of here you nosy little pervert or I’m gonna slap you silly!

He said if I walked in and saw him naked, I’d grow up never feeling like a real man. Whatever that means.

You can’t be too careful when it involves underwear.

I’m not apologizing to Buzz! I’d rather kiss a toilet seat!

You guys give up? Have you had enough pain? NEVER!

SUCK BRICK, KID!

I’ve reached the top!

When I grow up and get married I’m living ALONE!

Get down on your knees and tell me you love me!

I’m gonna give you to the count of ten, to get your lousy, lyin’, no good kiester off my property…

Thank you John Hughes, for this pure holiday magic.

One thought on “have you ever felt like you swallowed a weed-eater?

Leave a Reply

