Blessed Assurance

A gloomy, rainy day in Starkville…

I realize that I am a day behind on my blog challenge (which I intend to fix tonight), but I think now would be a great time to address something that has been on my heart the past week.

Many of my friends and family know that my sweet Aunt Dona passed away last Friday morning. She was 92 years old and had been suffering terribly from Alzheimer’s disease during the last decade of her life.

She took care of me a lot when I was a baby. She meant the world to my mom and dad. I can dig down deep in my memories and say with all truth that there is not a single memory of her I have that isn’t simply wonderful.

That being said, I have absolutely no doubt where she is right now. She is in the presence of God.

The evidence of her faith and her walk with God beamed from her. And while I will miss her, I’m so happy that she is free from the chains of such a terrible disease. In fact, she’s better now than she ever was during her life here on Earth.

That got me thinking…

How many people do I know have peace about their eternal life? Christians have a kind of peace that is impossible to obtain without faith in Christ. This will somewhat tie into my next blog entry for the challenge (something you’re afraid of); I am in no way afraid of death.

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God,
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

Perfect submission, perfect delight,
Visions of rapture now burst on my sight;
Angels, descending, bring from above
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

Perfect submission, all is at rest,
I in my Savior am happy and blest,
Watching and waiting, looking above,
Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.

This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long;
This is my story, this is my song,
Praising my Savior all the day long.

As many times that I have sang that hymn in church, it holds such a deeper meaning right now.

For all the readers out there who are not Mississippi State bulldogs, please keep the family of Nick Bell in your prayers. Nick played football for state (#36) and lost his battle to cancer today. The Bulldog Nation is mourning the loss of a part of the family.

until He returns or calls me home, here in the power of Christ I stand:
Mary Chase

One thought on “Blessed Assurance

  1. Mary Chase,

    What a great article. I set hear with my own very precious memories of Aunt Dona. And as you said, “Blessed Assurance, Jesus Is Mine.”

    Debbie

Leave a Reply

