30 Day Blog Challege, Day 8

Day 8: A place you’ve traveled to

During high school, the youth group at my church would take a yearly spring break trip to the beautiful mountains of the Ozarks in Arkansas.

I could write a book about my Ozark adventures. First of all, some of the most bonding times with my best friends came from this trip. We have experienced everything–from our bus breaking down on the intersate and us having to literally get out and push it off the exit ramp, to one of our church vans drowning during a flood–we weren’t very kind to our vehicles…not on purpose, though…

One infamous story that came from the Ozarks was when I walked in the shower to find a dead aramdillo at my feet. That was a lovely prank inflicted by my “friends”…(just kidding, I do love them dearly) I believe it was the loudest I have ever screamed in my entire life.

We “saddled the bobcat”, hiked to the goat cave, and had a pleathora of inside jokes and adventures.

Hiking to the goat cave was a big deal for me. It’s very physically challenging–I had always avoided things like that. But hiking to the mountain, climbing the side of the mountain to get there, going up in the cave, propelling down part of it, and overcoming something I thought was an obstacle was huge. And now I can’t get enough of stuff like that. 🙂

It was also a wonderful time to have some one-on-one time with God. There were no TVs, no cell phone signal–just you, your brothers and sisters in Christ, and the beauty of His creation. I will cherish these memories forever!

One thought on “30 Day Blog Challege, Day 8

Leave a Reply

