30 Day Blog Challenge, Day 7

Day 7: Favorite Movies

For those of you who know me, you know that I have the uncanny ability to quote movies constantly. In fact, it probably annoys the mess out of my friends. Sorry guys.

But it’s because I love movies! I like almost every genre–I don’t do “Saw” or anything gross, however.

I’m going to attempt to make a list of my top ten favorite movies of all time.

10. You’ve Got Mail

I’d be denying my feminine identity if I did not include a good chick flick on this list. This movie is just downright happy, and it’s one of my mom’s favorites as well.

9.  RENT

Yes, it is very strange to say that one of my favorite movies is based off a Broadway musical about homosexuals, transvestites, and AIDS. Oh goodness, I didn’t realize how bad that sentence sounds. Although those controversial themes are supporting to the plot, the music in this movie musical is amazing. I just love it. I saw the play twice, once at the Orpheum in Memphis and once at an off-Broadway theater also in Memphis. I listen to the soundtrack all the time, and I really like the cinematography of this movie. Also, Idina Menzel is in it. She plays Maureen, the role she originated on Broadway. I love Idina Menzel. “Rent” has something powerful and poignant about it; I think it’s a combination of the story and the fantastic music.

8. Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion


I am being completely honest when I say that my sister and I could quote this movie from start to finish. It is horrible, really, but my gosh it is one of my favorite movies in the world.

7. Mean Girls

This is such a funny movie. All teenage girls should see this, because even in the midst of the humor and oh-so-quotable lines, there is a lot of truth to this movie.

6. The Wizard of Oz

My senior quote came from this movie. [“A heart is not judged by how much you love, but by how much you are loved by others.”] I love this movie, and I don’t understand how anyone couldn’t. It is so sweet. I hope my future kids love it as much as me, because they’ll hopefully be watching it every year around Christmas just like my family does.

5. The Lord of the Rings trilogy


I’m counting all three movies as one, since it is a trilogy :). I love love love Lord of the Rings. The books are fantastic, and although the movies are fairly different, I love the movies as well.

4. Sherlock Holmes


Oh man, I love this movie. I have always been hooked on a good mystery story…I was raised reading Nancy Drew. I’ve read some of the Sherlock Holmes stories. This movie is so great–the plot is awesome and the dialogue is hysterical. Robert Downey, Jr. is so good at playing quirky characters.

3. The Princess and the Frog

This is such a fantastic movie. The music is probably my favorite from any Disney movie, and the story line will melt your heart into a puddle on the floor. Go see it, you will not regret it.

2. Beauty and the Beast

This is by far my favorite Disney movie. “The Princess and the Frog” runs a very close second, but “Beauty and the Beast” will always be my favorite. I have loved this movie since I was old enough to remember it. I could quote every word of it right now. I always related closer to Belle than any other Disney princess :).

1. O Brother, Where Art Thou?

This movie is pure cinematic genius. If you haven’t seen it, you need to. I am a huge fan of the Cohen Brothers–“Fargo” is another favorite of mine, but it didn’t quite make the top ten list. This movie is so quirky and funny, but at the same time it has an excellent story line dealing with serious issues of the Great Depression. It is cast so well. Go see it. You’ll love it.

Wow, I didn’t realize how many favorite movies I have. I could probably make another list of ten (or twenty) easily. I’m probably going to publish this and think “oh crackers, I forgot “_____”. I didn’t even include the rest of the musicals, Disney movies, and the cult classics I enjoy. (Yes, I’m one of “those people”.)

Anyway, enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “30 Day Blog Challenge, Day 7

  1. Mary Chase, It’s so funny that I think we are a lot alike and then I read your list of movies and I’ve only seen 2 of the…The Wizard of Oz and Beauty and the Beast. Ha. I will watch your favs now with an open mind since you like them. That must be a really bad run-on sentence. We need to get together again soon.

  2. RENT is about love and not losing love to stupid things and loving not matter what others say. thats why you love it beacuse thats why i love it. you forgot Rocky horror pitcure show, hairspray, fight club, ect ect. im obsessed with you!

Leave a Reply

