30 Day Blog Challenge, Day 2

Day 2: meaning behind your blog name

The title of my blog is “sail thou forth to seek and find”, with the tag line underneath–“stop studying strife and learn to live the unexamined life.”

The first part comes from a Walt Whitman poem called “The Untold Want”:

The Untold Want–by life and land ne’er granted–

Now, Voyager, sail thou forth to seek and find.

This poem is a theme/ title inspiration for the Bette Davis movie “Now Voyager”. I used to watch this with my mom all the time–if you haven’t seen it, you need to; it is a fantastic movie.

In the movie, Bette Davis plays the character of Charlotte Vale; an insecure woman on the brink of a nervous breakdown, under the control of her domineering mother. She goes on a therapy retreat and comes back a new woman; but before she leaves, her doctor gives her the Whitman poem. It’s so good!

Now my mother couldn’t be any more opposite the mother in the film; she’s supportive, sweet, hilarious, loving, kind, and just awesome. But I’ll get to more on her later.

Long story short, my mom left me a note in my desk my freshman year of college after I moved into my dorm. Mom and Dad were gone and I was living on my own for the first time ever. The note said :

“Mary- sail thou forth to seek and find! I love you, momma”

The line ‘sail thou forth to seek and find’ just seems like the perfect name for a blog to keep in college.

The tag line says “stop studying strife and learn to live the unexamined life” is from…..you guessed it….

Wicked. What a wonderful theatrical experience. Again, if you haven’t seen it, YOU NEED TO SEE IT. Wicked holds/will always hold a special spot inside my heart. I’ve seen it two times on two very meaningful occasions.

Those lyrics are from the song “Dancing through Life”.

Well that’s my blog name in 400 words or less. 🙂

-MC

Leave a Reply

